Chicago Q Ensemble

Well, my life has certainly been taking some interesting twists and turns lately!  For the last 3 years, I have been completely immersed in the orchestral world.  Playing in orchestra every week, practicing for orchestral auditions diligently, taking lessons with orchestral musicians…In other words, living, breathing, and dreaming of ORCHESTRA.  I knew it was time for a change, and that’s probably why I ended up starting the Gesher Music Festival–sometimes, you just need a little chamber music in your life!  Well, I suppose you could say I asked for it, because now I’m the latest member of the Chicago Q Ensemble, a string quartet dedicated to making chamber music accessible and engaging through collaboration, performance and education.  It’s an all-female ensemble, and the other members are a true delight, both personally and musically.  In lieu of a professional photo, here’s a casual shot we took yesterday just to have at least ONE picture of us together. (since I’ve only been with them for 2 weeks now, we’ve had more important things to do like REHEARSE than schedule photoshoots!)

Aimee (viola), Kate (violin), Ellen (violin), and yours truly

I’m so excited for this new step in my career–playing chamber music has always been a passion of mine, but I never thought it would realistically turn into a tangible career path.  We have some really exciting things lined up for this year, starting with a concert inspired by ambitious dreamers:

If you’re interested, you can order tickets online.  Also, stay tuned for more info about our upcoming collaboration with a poet, a composer, and a shadow puppet troupe.  Or get more details here if that vague statement left you curious.

I can’t wait to start performing with these fabulous musicians–I hope some of you will be able to make it to our concerts this year!

Leave a Reply

