#WritingGigsAreFun

Over the last few months, I’ve been involved in a writing project that has been both endlessly amusing and infinitely enlightening! I’ve been an employee of Dartmouth College (in New Hampshire–yes–thanks, internet, for making that possible for this Illinois girl), specifically for the Hopkins Center for the Arts. In an effort to market their classical music programming towards young people and get more college students to come to concerts, they hired me to write a page worth of snark for each of their 18 classical shows this season.

My assignment has basically been to:

1) Research each program.
2) Determine what about the program would appeal to a college student.
3) Translate that into a few short, snarky paragraphs, and also into a Tweet that sums up the whole concert.

I’ve had a lot of fun with this project, and just thought I’d share a small sample. This is apparently what has been gracing the napkin holders in Dartmouth’s cafeterias these days. I have yet to see some of the other creative things they’ve been doing with what I’ve sent them, but am looking forward to finding out…

141102twitterslideENSglee

Leave a Reply

